Fine Arts Electronic Resources
Access to these resources is limited to members of Ohio University only.
Article Databases
Academic Search Complete
Provides access to several arts periodical titles from 1975 to date. Full-text articles are available for more recent entries. While Academic Search may not index some of the journals indexed in Art Abstracts, this is a good place to look for full-text articles.
Art Abstracts
Art Abstracts now indexes more than 250 titles. Articles indexed since the 1970's may include abstracts. Earlier entries will include only citations. It is possible to limit searches by date, article type and publication. There are limited full-text articles available. Check the Biography Resource Center and Academic Search Complete for more full-text coverage.
Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals
A comprehensive index of journal articles published worldwide (1741 to the present) on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. It covers more than 2800 sources, including international scholarly and popular periodical literature and the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Provides citations only. This scholarly index to periodicals, books, exhibition catalogues, collected essays, conferences proceedings and dissertations began publication in 1973. It is limited to western art.
JSTOR Art and Art History Journals
Online full text of more than 30 scholarly journals. See also the JSTOR Sandbox, which previews website innovations and new features in their early stages.
Biographical Sources
Biography Resource Center
A comprehensive full-text database of biographical information of more than one million people throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Grove Dictionary of Art Online This online version of The Dictionary of Art has periodic updates with new articles and incorporates new research and additional links for existing articles. Articles are cross-referenced to related subjects, making it easy to navigate this extraordinarily rich online source.
Image Databases
ArtSTOR
Provides access to several hundred thousand art images. This is a great lecture tool and study aid. NOT scholarly in nature, but basic logistical data is provided for each work. Requires registration in order to authenticate as an Ohio University user: always link from the library web site. Citations for images may be exported directly into RefWorks; see our RefWorks help page for more information.
|