Major Databases and Other Electronic Resources for Government Information
Access to most, though not all, of these sources is limited to users at the Athens campus of Ohio University, usually including off-campus access. (Note the ) Some are also available to the regional campuses. A few have no restrictions at all.
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Academic Search Complete 
Academic (Lexis-Nexis)
Access UN 
Almanac of American Politics 
America: History and Life 
American Memory From the The Library of Congress
Civil War CD-ROM Available at the Documents Desk Call No.: E464 .C5 1996x
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 
Code of Federal Regulations (Hein OnLine) 
Congressional (Lexis-Nexis)  Search a complete range of legislative and public policy resources, including:
- hearings transcripts from 1998 to date
- Committee reports from 1990 to date
- index to Congressional publications and hearings, 1789-1972
- House and Senate documents from 1995 to date
- the FEDERAL REGISTER from 1980 to date
- the text of proposed bills from 1989 to date
- bill tracking from 1989 to date, public laws from 1988 to date
- hot topics being discussed in Congress
- biographical and financial information about current members of Congress
- voting records in Congress 1988 to date
- key votes in Congress 1987 to date
- Serial Set and Serial Set Maps 1789 - 1969
- ...and more.
Congressional Research Service (CRS Reports)
Nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
CQ Researcher 
CQ Weekly Report 
Declassified Documents Reference System
Federal Register Library (Hein Online)  Covers 1936 - 2007, Code of Federal Regulations 1938 - 1983
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
FBIS Index 1975-1996
Google U.S. Government Search Use the Search Government Sites Button to limit to government information
GPO Access
GPO Monthly Catalog
Covers 1976 - present
GrayLIT Network "Gray literature" from federal scientific and technical agencies
Hein Online
Law Journal Library (over 1700 Journals)
Historical Abstracts
Index to United Nations Documents and Publications Covers 1946 - present
International Political Science Abstracts Covers 1989 - current
National Security Archive
National Trade Databank (NTDB) International marketing information and trade opportunities
ODS: Official Documents of the United Nations
beginning in 1993 and access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
Ohio Capitol Connection
Ohio General Assembly and Legislation Coverage
PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service Covers 1976 - current
PAISArchive Covers 1915 - 1976
Patent Search - Google
Presidential Library (Hein OnLine)  Message and Papers, Inaugural Addresses, Executive Orders, Economic Reports
Presidential Papers CD-ROM Covers Washington to Clinton. Available at the Documents Desk Call No.: J81 .C95 1995x
Public Papers of the President Covers 1991 to present; from GPO Access
PUBmed Access to medical literature at the National Library of Medicine
Serial Set 1789 - 1969 (Lexis Nexis)
Digitized collection of historical United States Government publications.
Social Sciences Citation Index 
SourceOECD
STAT-USA/Internet Economic, business, and international trade information
Treaties and Agreements Library (Hein Online)
Official and Unofficial Treaty publications, indexes and guides
USA.gov Official information and services from the U.S. government. Use Advanced Search : federal/state search tool, quick links to agencies and references, and a topic selector
U. S. Attorny General Opinions (Hein OnLine) 
U. S. Federal Agency Library (Hein OnLine)
Complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States most important government institutions.
U.S. Foreign Affairs On CD-ROM Available at the Documents Desk Call No.: S 1.142/2: Full text of documents released by the State Department's Office of Public Communication, 1990-1996, 1993-1998. Some of the same full-text documents are archived on the web from the State Department.
US Government Accountability Office, Reports and Testimony
United States Government Manual
(Hein OnLine)
1935 - 2005
U. S. Statutes at Large (Hein OnLine)
Vols. 1-120 (1789-2006)
U.S. Supreme Court Library (Hein OnLine) including:
- U.S. Reports (1754 - 2004)
- U.S. Reports Preliminary Prints (2002 - 2006)
- U.S. Reports Slip Opinions (2002 - To Date)
University of Michigan Documents Center Federal, State, Foreign, and International information with links by subject covering government, political science, statistical data, news and more.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (Hein On-Line)  Covers 1965 - 2006
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents Covers 1993 to present from the National Archives
WDI Online (World Development Indicators)
World News Connection A Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  Closed file covers 1975 - June 30, 2006
|