ALICE | Infotree | home
  ASK A LIBRARIAN im | chat | phone |e-mail
Government Documents Department
Ohio Documents
United States Documents
United Nations Documents

Databases
Statistics Sources

Staff

Logo of Government Depository System 

Research Guides for Government Information

United States   | International  |  State and Local
To Search by Subject / Agency

Find Federal Information Online
   General Search Resources by Keyword, Title, Agency, Topic

These guides to materials (located in the U.S. Government Documents collection and Alden Library, as well as worldwide via the Internet) are mostly to Web sites, however, some contain print sources you shouldn't do without. Included are great guides from other government publications departments. The resources are selected and annotated by librarians. Why spend hours searching on the Web when we've done it for you?

United States Information by Subject

Census Information in Alden Library

The Civil War CD-ROM Guide

Congressional Research Service

FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service and Daily Report

Genealogy Records in Government Documents Guide

History and Historical Documents Research
How to find the pre-internet information

Journalism - Information Gathering (J233) Resources

Legislative and Law Information

Patent Information: United States and International

Presidential Papers and Communications Guide

Social Work
Online Federal and State Government Information Resources

Statistics
Major Federal Statistic Agencies and Publications

Tax Form Resources
Federal, Ohio and Other States' Tax Form Information Links

Voting and Elections Resources

Jump to top of page

Guides to International Information

United Nations Research Guide

International Studies Interest

FBIS
Foreign Broadcast Information Service and Daily Report

OCED Information and SourceOCED (list in InfoTree)

Jump to top of page

Guides to State and Local Documents

American States Index

Athens Mental Health Center and the Ridges Guide to Ohio Documents

Genealogy Records Guide For Government Documents

Hocking River Information and Resources

Ohio Information and Documents Collection

State and Local Government on the Net

Jump to top of page

To Search by Subject / Agency

Google U S Government Search
Easy to use.   Searches .gov and .mil sites along with Federal, state, and local governments results

Federal Government Resources on the Web
University of Michigan Documents Center site is one of the best on the web! Federal, state, foreign and international information; covering government, political science, statistical data, news and more.

Federal Resources Organized by Topic
GPO Access Resources / U. S. Government sites, arranged by topic

Federal Resources by Topic
GPO Access in partnership with Oklahoma State University Edmon Low Library provides a simple, straightforward listing of government information and agency sites by subject.

USA.gov
U. S. Government official web portal to search over 51 million government web pages by topic.

Frequently Used Sites suggested by documents specialists
Federal Information searchable by Subject, Agency and Department, and Indexes. Includes links to state and local government information.

INFOMINE - Scholarly Internet Resource Collections Government Information
U.S. Federal, state, local, regional and international government resources. INFOMINE is librarian built by University of California, California State University, and other university and college librarians

U.S. Federal Government Agencies
LSU Libraries Federal Agencies Directory - Link to any U.S. government agency's homepage

Jump to top of page
OHIO University Libraries
Athens, OH 45701-2978
Phone: (740) 593-2699
Last updated: May 17, 2008
This page is maintained by Doreen Hockenberry.
Please use our Feedback Form for your questions, comments, and suggestions about the Libraries' services and resources.
OHIO University © 2005 All Rights Reserved