ALICE | InfoTree | home
  ASK A LIBRARIAN im | chat | phone | e-mail

Business Blog

Tips, Tricks, and Tools for the Business Researcher

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Basics of Research Insight screencast

Wednesday, June 10th, 2009
This video demonstrates how to use Standard & Poor’s Research Insight to screen for a list of companies and retrieve user-selected data for the companies.  In this example, we use Research Insight to find annual returns and annual net income for a list of companies from 2002.

Research Insight is a subscription database that is available to users at Ohio University.  For information about how to access the database, please visit this page in InfoTree.  If you are not a member of the Ohio University community, you may want to check with a local library about access.

For more helpful videos, take a look at the Business Database Screencasts page in the Biz Wiki.

Research Insight Tutorial

Thursday, May 14th, 2009

Jennifer Boettcher, from Georgetown University, has put together a really nice tutorial that covers the basics of Research Insight.  Research Insight is an admittedly intimidating database to use, but it is also very powerful. Jennifer does a great job at explaining how to use some of the basic features of the database.

researchinsighttutorial

Ohio University researchers can find access to Research Insight here.

Finding information about telecommuting

Monday, March 9th, 2009

If you’re researching telecommuting, here’s some information that may help you along your way. The first is a video showing how to find articles about telecommuting in the BNA Human Resources Library.

For additional information on the topic, you may want to look for articles in Business Source Complete, or look for electronic books in ebrary.  In addition to searching for “telecommuting” as a keyword, you might also search for “telework”.  And rather than searching about the pros and cons of telecommuting, try to thing in terms of advantages, morale, productivity, cost savings, accountability, technology limitations, performance, etc. There is also a fantastic article about “telework” in the International Encyclopedia of Business and Management.  WebWorkerDaily has a nice collection of blog posts about telecommuting.  Finally, you might want to look for the topic of telecommuting on sites like GreenBiz.com.

Other suggested terms for searching the topic include: virtual team, telework, virtual work, telecommuting, virtual office, flextime working, virtual organizations, virtual workplace, alternative workplaces, remote work.

Finding international industry information

Thursday, March 5th, 2009
This video shows two places to look for international industry information.  It demonstrates how to use the Global Market Information Database and how to find industry profiles in Business Source Complete.  You’ll need to use the full-screen toggle for better viewing.  This video is also available in the Biz Wiki.

Finding a Japanese company to buy your logs

Monday, March 2nd, 2009
This video shows how to use Hoover’s Online to screen for a foreign company in a specific industry.  This example assumes you want to find a company in Japan that would buy logs for use in their products.

Featured Video

Facebook

    follow me on Twitter

    12 seconds.tv


    Close
    E-mail It