ALICE | InfoTree | home
  ASK A LIBRARIAN im | chat | phone | e-mail

Business Blog

Tips, Tricks, and Tools for the Business Researcher

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Database Alerts workshop next week

Wednesday, September 10th, 2008

Would you like to streamline your information gathering in your field of research?  Many of Alden Library’s research databases now offer alert services.  Using these services, you can automatically be notified about new articles that meet criteria you specify, either by email or through RSS feeds.  This fall Alden Library will be offering a workshop about database alert services for faculty who would like to learn more about what they do and how to use them.  The workshop will be offered twice, on Wednesday, September 17th, and on Thursday, October 2nd, both in Alden 323 from noon to 1 pm.  For more information, please see the workshop announcement at http://www.library.ohiou.edu/workshops/alerts.html.  We hope to see you there!

Using LexisNexis to find international subsidiaries

Friday, June 27th, 2008

lexis_subsidiary.jpg

Need to find companies with subsidiaries in other countries?  Then LexisNexis may be the tool that you need.  This screencast walks you through how to search for companies wthat have subsidiaries in other countries.

For other screencasts, take a look at the Biz Wiki Screencasts page.

Mediamark Reporter (MRI) Screencast Tutorial

Friday, February 29th, 2008

Mediamark Reporter “offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage, and media data collected from a single sample. These data provide strategic insights, consumer targeting, brand trial/loyalty, promotional opportunities, and trade marketing.” While used mostly for marketing and advertising research, this database does provide useful industry information, such as consumer buying habits and demographics. Please note that this database requires users to complete a free registration process (Ohio University patrons only).

mediamark.jpg

In the Using MediaMark Reporter for Product Demographics, you will learn the basics of using MediaMark Reporter. This example shows how to find demographics for a particular consumer product. This screencast is about 3 minutes in length, and does contain audio.

Look for this and other screencast tutorials in the Business Database Screencasts section of the Biz Wiki.

Marketing information with WARC

Friday, February 1st, 2008

The World Adversing Research Center (WARC) is a great resource for marketing information.

Here’s a few samples of the articles you can find in the database:

1. Coca-Cola Zero – a new product launch without the downside
Louise Cook, Zoe Hamilton, Michael Dick, Jason Briggs and Matthew Hook, Institute of Practitioners in Advertising, Bronze, IPA Effectiveness Awards, 2007

This Bronze Award-winning paper details the launch campaign for Coca-Cola Zero, a zero-sugar version of the brand targeting a male audience. The mainly media used were TV, posters, online and free newspapers, and substantial growth was achieved in a short but heavy summer campaign, without the loss of a price premium. Alongside increases in awareness, brand favourability, purchase likelihood and message association, the cannibalisation of other Coke products was below the expected level.

 

2. Green is the colour
Jenny Eldridge, Admap, December 2007

Recent years have witnessed a ‘green revolution’ among consumers, advertisers and the media alike as the issues surrounding climate change have gained increasing prominence. This has been demonstrated by the increasing number of consumers looking at the green credentials of the products they buy and the companies they do business with. Advertisers have been keen to target their products at this emerging group, which needs to be understood and targeted in a different way to traditional advertising.

 

3. Global brands – powerhouses
Leo van Sister, Admap, September 2007, Issue 486, pp.49-50

In this article, Leo van Sister, founder and partner of Brand Custodians®, discusses what makes successful global brands, and what keeps them as marketing powerhouses in a changing technical world.

 

4. Company Profile: Ford Motor Company(US)
Company Profile in association with Adbrands, March 2006

This Company Profile provides key details and analysis of Ford Motor Company, including its latest activities, market position, financial performance, brands, structure and history, together with onward links to related profiles on WARC and external web sites.

5. TLC: Life Lessons
New York American Marketing Association, Gold, Media Companies, EFFIE Awards 2007

TLC’s ad sales and ratings were down and viewers were emotionally disconnected from the network. With the heydays of Trading Spaces long gone, viewers and ad buyers weren’t sure what TLC stood for any more. TLC needed a new identity. We resonated with a lifestage and we created a strategic platform that would define the network as something more than just a TV channel. Based off human truths, the Life Lessons campaign took TLC in a new direction. The Campaign revitalized TLC, increased ratings and engaged our viewers.

 The database can be browsed by topic or searched by keyword.  The advance search feature is more useful than the basic search, as you can narrow where your search terms occur in the document.  The database contains a number of marketing-specific publications, as well as a few of the Gale industry encyclopedias.  For more details on the database, see the listing for WARC in the Biz Wiki.  Other marketing resources can be found in InfoTree and the Biz Wiki.

 

Plunkett Research to be offline this Saturday

Thursday, September 20th, 2007

From an email from our Plunkett rep:

Dear Valued Subscriber,

I hope you have been enjoying the improvements to Plunkett Research Online. We have greatly appreciated the many positive comments you have sent us this summer. Now, we are ready to make our usage statistics even better!

We are getting ready to upgrade our site usage stats, to bring them more into conformity with the majority of databases, so that they will register page views as well as users and industries viewed. To do this, we need to take the entire system offline this Saturday, from 11am to 4pm Central time. I apologize for any inconvenience this will cause; the improvement to our usage stats will be worth the trouble.

Also, I am happy to report that our Build-A-Report feature now has customizable, selectable, industry statistics. Just as our industry trends have been always been individually selectable, our industry statistics are too now. Take a look! This is just one more way we are working to improve the value of Plunkett Research Online, at no additional cost to you.

Have a nice weekend, and find something fun to do this Saturday other than using Plunkett’s research!

Featured Video

Facebook

    follow me on Twitter

    12 seconds.tv


    Close
    E-mail It