The Business Blog

Offering tips, tricks, and tools for Ohio University business & economics researchers since 2004 .

Sports Business Databases

Copyright & Access

Creative Commons License
This site contents is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Please note that the majority of resources linked on this site are subscription databases. If you are not a member of the Ohio University Academic Community, you should check with your local library for access or search WorldCat for the database name and find a library near you.

If you would like to embed a video in your own site, please feel free to do so. I'm happy for others to use the content on this site, and all I ask for is a link back to my site in return.

Business & Economics Databases

This page contains a list of all databases. Browse by alphabet in the resources below, or by category in the list on the left side of the page.


Bizminer

Bizminer is a great resource when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry. It includes industry financial ratios, failure rates of businesses, local industry market research statistics, and more.

...Go to the database...

Business Source Complete

I often refer to Business Source Complete as the “Google of Business Information”. Regardless of your topic, Business Source Complete is bound to have something for you. It’s great for company and industry news, academic journals, trade publications, and much more.

...Go to the database...

CountryWatch

CountryWatch is a great resource for international business, giving you a quick overview of the political, economic, and social issues in countries around the world. Connect to:  CountryWatch  Format:  Subscription database Access :  All Ohio University Campuses Provides country specific … Continued

...Go to the database...

D&B Country Risk Reports

The D&B Country Risk Reports are a great resource for analyzing the risks of doing business in another country

...Go to the database...

Datastream

Datastream is an advanced research tool thatcontains worldwide financial and economic data. It inncludes both current and historical data on equities, economic series, foreign exchange, interest rates, fixed income instruments, and derivatives.

...Go to the database...

Encylopedia of American Industries

The Encyclopedia of American Industries offers short overviews of a huge number of U.S. industries. The resource is especially useful when researching the background and development of an industry.

...Go to the database...

Factiva

Factiva is a very powerful database that can be used to find company, industry, and business news, as well as company profiles, stock prices, and more.

...Go to the database...

First Research

First Research provides industry profiles on over 600 industry segments covering the competitive landscape, products, operations, technology finance, regulation, and more.

...Go to the database...

Hoover’s Online

An excellent source for comprehensive company profiles for public companies. Includes some private company information.

...Go to the database...

IBISWorld Industry Market Research

IBISWorld contains in-depth, regularly updated industry reports for over 700 United States NAICS-classified industries that include analysis, forecast, ratios, market share, and more.

...Go to the database...

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis is a great source for company or industry news, company profiles, legal cases, financials, family trees, accounting publications, law journals, and more.

...Go to the database...

Mediamark Reporter

This database contains demographic information about users of specific consumer products including: what they use, income and educational level, what types of media they use, and more.

...Go to the database...

Mergent Intellect

An excellent source to find companies and competitors by user-defined search criteria, such as size, location, industry, sales, and more. Connect to:  Mergent Intellect  Access Info:  All Ohio University Campuses Use Mergent Intellect to create lists of companies by user-defined … Continued

...Go to the database...

Mergent Online

Mergent Online offer extensive company financials, filings, equity and industry reports, and much more. Information can be screened, selected, and downloaded.

...Go to the database...

Mintel Oxygen

Connect to Mintel Oxygen

Mintel Oxygen is a great place to look for comprehensive market research reports and consumer demographics for U.S. and some European markets.

...Go to the database...

Morningstar Investment Research Center

During Spring Semester 2015, we are fortunate to have a trial to Morningstar Investment Research Center, an “all-inclusive investment research database designed specifically for libraries.”

...Go to the database...

OneSource

OneSource is an excellent database for company profiles, industry and market research reports, SWOT analyses, analyst reports, and more.

...Go to the database...

Passport

Passport GMID offers comprehensive coverage of international consumer markets, consumer lifestyles in other countries, economic statistics, demographic forecasting, and more.

...Go to the database...

Plunkett Research Online

Plunkett Research Online offers annually updated industry overviews, one-page company profiles, associations, company contacts, and more. A good resource for general company and industry research.

...Go to the database...

PrivCo

PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. It has profiles for over 850,000 firms, 20,000 investors and 100,000 private market deals

...Go to the database...

Research Insight (Compustat)

Note:  Research Insight  will discontinue in April. We still have access through then, but note that we’ve had a hard time getting it to work on all library computers. Due to the time until cancellation, we will not be fixing … Continued

...Go to the database...

SBRnet : Sports Business Research Network

If you need statistics on sports participation, sports venue revenues, sporting goods sales, and much more, SBRNet is a great place to start.

...Go to the database...

Simmons Oneview

Screenshot of Simmons OneView

Contains demographic information about users of specific consumer products including: what they use, income and educational level, what types of media they use, and more.

...Go to the database...

SimplyMap

Click to Connect to SimplyMap

SimplyMap provides demographic, business, or marketing data from the state down to the local level, allowing users to create customized maps and reports with an almost unlimited number of variables.

...Go to the database...

SPORTDiscus

SPORTDiscus contains a good deal of publications that can assist the sports business researcher, many of which cannot be found in other article databases. If you’re doing sports business research, you should give it a look.

...Go to the database...

SRDS

SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) contains media profiles for various media categories and is an excellent marketing resource to understand media trends in specific DMAs. It is also a fantastic resource if you are trying to figure out where you should spend your advertising dollars in a particular market.

...Go to the database...

Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage

Provides online access to a variety of company, industry, and country reports, including Standard and Poor’s Stock Reports, EDGAR filings, Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys, and much more.

...Go to the database...

Statista

Statista is an excellent source of business, economic, political, social, and historical statistics. It is a great place to simply search for you topic to find loads of relevant and useful statistics.

...Go to the database...

Uniworld

Uniworld is an online directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries, and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States.

...Go to the database...

Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal publishes business and finance new from around the globe. Electronic access to the Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided via the library’s subscription to Proquest Newspapers.

...Go to the database...